PCT: Angels of Wrightwood

The PCT holds a new class of trail angels.

As southbounders on the AT, Zach and I didn’t see very much trail magic. Sodas under overpasses, people grilling out at road crossings, gear being given away… nothing like that.

But the angels of Wrightwood and their magic are of an entirely different caliber than cold sodas.

I got into Wrightwood early in the morning, having camped just up a hill from the highway. It was barely 7 AM when a guy got out of a truck that had been sitting at the overlook parking lot overnight and asked if I needed a ride.

I accepted. He told me he had come the night before to enjoy the view and sunset at Inspiration Point and had ended up just sleeping in his truck.

I mean, okay. Cool, dude.

He took me into Wrightwood, a town renowned for its hiker friendliness. The first stop was a free cup of coffee at a local shop. Then the post office for my resupply package. The Hardware Store is just next door to that and if you sign their register they give you a PCT pin.

The Hardware Store also has a phenomenal hiker box. Or rather boxes; they have them organized into free food, gear, and other.
They also exchange Darn Tough socks!

I didn’t know that at the time but I certainly wish I had.

The other thing at the Hardware Store is the Trail Angel registry. This is a list of people who are willing to take in hikers to their homes and give them rest and help them with their zero day chores (ie. laundry, shower, etc). I thought I’d give it a try and phoned Patti and Bob, near the top of the list.

Patti answered her phone while at work and told me she would pick me up at 3 PM.
Okay, that’s sorted.

Across the street at the service station, hikers get a free hot dog. Patti had said on the phone not to eat too much because she would be cooking dinner, so that was my lunch.

I killed time at the library until around 3 when I headed back towards the Hardware Store. A lovely English couple, Harry and Fran, whom I’d run into at Cajon Pass were there too. Apparently Patti had room for two more.

A lovely woman in a big white pick up truck came to pick us all up, hugging each of us despite our stench. She drove us home a little way out of town.

Then it was down to business.

Patti and Bob have been hosting hikers for years and Patti has got it down to a science. First we took our shoes off at the door and gathered our laundry. We left the dusty packs outside. Then Patti showed us up the stairs to the two spare rooms. We each had a set of comfy sweats to change into while the laundry was going, and Patti started us on a shower rotation, demonstrating to each person how to use the shower.
(There was even a hiker box of razors, shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, lotion etc. in there)

When every one was showered and the laundry rotated, we hung out downstairs while Patti cooked up tostadas. There was beer and wine (I had brought my own, but they were offering too) and we all talked and talked until it was all ready.

Patti is a fantastic cook. I ate my weight in shredded chicken and guacamole. It was amazing.

The next morning, Bob woke up early and cooked pancakes. Fran was unfortunately suffering from an injured ankle and the two of them were staying in town longer to recuperate, but Bob gave me a ride back to the trail after breakfast.

It was a hard situation to walk away from. I never expected nor do I ever expect to find again such incredible hospitality.

My hat is off to the good people of Wrightwood, but especially to Bob and Patti.

Truer angels never lived.

Happy Trails,

Artemis

4AA84976-68E8-436F-92AD-718DCE1D63B1

Inspiration Point

 

Leave a comment